Husband and wife duo Miles ahead

Andrew Miles won the Sally Memorial race at Drouin Speedway on Saturday night. Picture: CBM PHOTOGRAPHY

Pakenham’s Miles family enjoyed a fabulous Saturday night at Drouin Speedway on the speedway club’s opening day of competition for the season.

Andrew Miles dominated the 30-lap Sally Memorial race, leading the field of locals at every lap and setting a new one-lap track record for the class at 19.43 seconds in the process.

Miles completed the race eight seconds ahead of Warragul’s Kacey Ingram, capping an excellent week, having claimed the chequered flag at Nyora on Monday in a different memorial race.

While in the Ladies Standard Saloons, the party continued for the Miles’ as Andrew’s wife, Bronwyn, claimed the final in a thriller.

Bronwyn held off former two-time State champion from Warragul Ally Morrison to claim victory by less than a second, and like her husband, set a new record for one lap in her class at 19.709 seconds.

In the Gippsland Wingless Sprints, visiting racer Jake Warren came and conquered the field, finishing a quarter of a second ahead of Lang Lang’s Ben Hodge.

Warren led the race from start to finish, with Kooweerup’s Thomas McDonald, Narre Warren’s Scott Irons, and Aron Lawrence rounding out the top five.

Pakenham Upper‘s Cruz Farrell smashed three track records in dominant day in the Junior Sedan competition.

Farrell eclipsed the one lap, eight lap and fifteen lap records on his way to winning the day, with times of 19.199 seconds, 2 minutes 44 seconds and 5 minutes 18 seconds, respectively.

Farrell set the eight-lap record in the fourth and final qualifier before making the final his own

Across fifteen laps in the final after Tasmanian Tyler Smith had dominated the day earlier, Farrell hit the track with the new one lap record after taking the race lead on lap five.

He increased the lead in latter stages to win by five seconds at the new fifteen lap record time, with Smith, Matilda Farrell, Steane Cosson and Tyson Heaphy finishing in the top five.

The New Star category top driver was Cosson, with Brad Marshall, Darcy Dannatt, Luke Morrison, and Jai Alexander the top five.