Student achievements recognised

Harrison de Koning, one of the award recipients.

Students from across the Holt electorate have been recognised for their contributions to the community.

On Monday 14 December, Anthony Byrne MP conducted the 2020 Holt Community Spirit and Leadership Awards in a virtual presentation ceremony via zoom due to Covid-19 pandemic restrictions.

This year marks the 19th anniversary of the awards, which acknowledge students who actively contribute to their school and their wider community.

34 students from 33 local schools were recognised at the online ceremony, which was attended virtually by award recipients, parents, teachers and family members.

“It is important particularly in this Covid-19 constrained year that we as a community celebrate the wonderful achievements and outstanding contributions made by the students in their schools and the wider community,’ said Mr Byrne.

“On Monday night we had inspiring stories of students who have embodied community spirit and demonstrated maturity beyond their years. Students who organised fundraisers for local charities, represented their schools in sporting competitions, participated in various ceremonies as well as represented their schools as ambassadors in the local community,” he said.

“In particular, one student throughout the pandemic, bought connection and familiarity to our community by writing scripts and filming herself for the virtual ANZAC service, virtual assemblies, virtual football parade, R U OK? Day, and virtual Remembrance Day service whilst still completing all of her work to an exceptionally high standard. Another student organised BBQ fundraisers at Bunnings in Cranbourne raising money for programs within the school, while throughout remote learning, she worked tirelessly to ensure the college community remained engaged and connected during the isolation,” said Mr Byrne.

“It was a great honour to present these awards. I am extremely proud of our young people, and I know that our future will be in safe in their hands with such inspiring stories.’All award recipients received a framed certificate.


Barton Primary School – Caplen Dexter

Botanic Ridge Primary School – Eliz Szasz

Casey Grammar School – Lilly Hopp

Casey Fields Primary School – Scarlett Mills

Clyde Primary School – Desi Kohobange

Coral Park Primary School – Cailin Farrington

Courtney Gardens Primary School – Nastaran Mirzaie

Cranbourne Carlisle Primary School – Shujaat Haidri

Cranbourne East Primary School – Frederick Kiellerup

Cranbourne Park Primary College – Fatemeh Habibi

Cranbourne Secondary College – Josh Bradford

Cranbourne South Primary School – Jamie Bryant

Cranbourne West Primary School – Brianna Boehl

Hampton Park Primary School – Ineya Sudhakar

Hampton Park Secondary College – Eddie Vusic

Hillsmeade Primary School – Harrison De Koning

Kilberry Valley Primary School – Katiana Michael

Lynbrook Primary School – Lily Hughes

Lyndhurst Primary School – Harrison Hand

Lyndhurst Secondary College – Zoe Baltruschaitis

Marnebek School Cranbourne – Charlotte Pataki

Narre Warren South P-12 College (Junior) – Charlotte Nichols

Pearcedale Primary School – Alyssa Hansen

Rangebank Primary School – Tearo Johassen

River Gum Primary School – Jerry Cheap

St Francis De Sale Primary School – Daelan De Zilwa

St Kevin’s Primary School – Tapuitea Li-Rina Passi

St Peter’s College – Clyde North Campus – Corey Coupar

St Peter’s College – Cranbourne Campus – Emily Andrew

Strathaird Primary School – Siobhan O’Connor

Tulliallan Primary School – Hershey Montemayor

Waverley Christian College (Primary) – Blake Hewegama

Waverley Christian College (Secondary) – Bryn Howell

Wilandra Rise Primary School – Anishka Nanayakkara

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.